Ibibio Sound Machine announce new album 'Pull The Rope'

Following on from the release of their much-loved 2022 LP 'Electricity', Ibibio Sound Machine have now announced their plans for a new studio album, arriving later this year.

The new full-length 'Pull The Rope' is being previewed by the new lead single 'Got To Be Who U Are', and is set to be released on the 3rd May via Merge Records.

Speaking about the new offering, the band say it is “about the idea that what brings us together is stronger than what separates us. No matter where we may go, we will always carry the essence of who we are in our hearts, and yet the places and things that separate us are not as important as we may be led to believe. Be happy and proud of who or what you are. Musically, the track begins by stating its message over a traditional African mbira part and then drops into a similar vocal except now over more of an electronic dance vibe which is meant to have an uplifting tone to it to carry along the message that we may be in Europe, Africa or America, but a simple sound or thought can instantly connect us. The places mentioned in the chorus “Surulere, Isale Eko, Ikoyi, Yaba” are all areas in Lagos, Nigeria where Eno grew up. The different parts of the music are connected even though they are using totally different sounds, symbolising movement of people across the world and the fundamental connection between places and people no matter where one may be.”

Have a listen to 'Got To Be Who U Are' in the player and see the album's full tracklisting below.

'Pull The Rope' Tracklist:
1. Pull The Rope
2. Got To Be Who U Are
3. Fire
4. Them Say
5. Political Incorrect
6. Mama Say
7. Let My Yes Be Yes
8. Touch The Ceiling
9. Far Away
10. Dance In The Rain

More News

Alt-J's new single features Miley Cyrus sample

After the announcement of their plans to release the follow-up to their stunning debut album 'An Awesome Wave' later this year, Alt-J have now... 10 years 1 month ago

OK Go produce mind-bending video for 'The Writing's On The Wall'

Ever since OK Go choreographed that incredibly charming dance routine on treadmills for their hit single 'Here It Goes Again', the band have gone to... 10 years 1 month ago

Simian Mobile Disco announce new album 'Whorl', preview lead single

Techno mavericks Simian Mobile Disco have announced that a new album is on the way later this year. The new full-length 'Whorl' is the pair's... 10 years 1 month ago

Unreleased Aphex Twin album shared online

Earlier this year, producer Aphex Twin chose to sell a rare unreleased test pressing of his "long lost" 1994 album 'Caustic Window' for nearly £8,000... 10 years 1 month ago

Dry The River announce new album, share lead single

Following on from their terrific debut full-length 'Shallow Bed' back in 2012, Dry The River will return later this year with their sophomore album '... 10 years 1 month ago

Arctic Monkeys share new video for 'Snap Out Of It'

As the sixth single from Arctic Monkeys' hugely successful 'AM' album, 'Snap Out Of It' has now received an official video. The single, which was... 10 years 1 month ago

Jessie Ware premieres new song 'Tough Love'

It has been teased around for the last week or so, but finally UK singer-songwriter Jessie Ware has unveiled her latest single 'Tough Love'.... 10 years 1 month ago

Morrissey unveils new song 'The Bullfighter Dies'

After the frontman revealed the first track, 'Earth Is The Loneliest Planet', from his forthcoming album earlier this month, Morrissey have now... 10 years 1 month ago

Rick Rubin confirms new Kanye West album is coming soon

Super producer and Def Jam founder Rick Rubin will announce that a new Kanye West album is on the way in an exclusive interview with Zane Lowe for... 10 years 1 month ago