Cat Power announces new album 'Covers'

Following on from the success of her 2018 LP 'Wanderer', Cat Power has now returned to announce the details behind a new full-length, arriving early next year.

The new album 'Covers' sees her perform renditions of songs from Nick Cave, Iggy Pop, Jackson Browne, Billie Holiday and many more, is being previewed by her version of Frank Ocean's 'Bad Religion' and The Pogues' 'A Pair Of Brown Eyes', and is set to be released on the 14th January via Domino Recordings.

Speaking about covering Frank Ocean, which originated after performing the excoriating original 'In Your Face', she said, “That song was bringing me down. So I started pulling out lyrics from ‘Bad Religion’ and singing those instead of getting super depressed. Performing covers is a very enjoyable way to do something that feels natural to me when it comes to making music.”

Have a listen to the new renditions in the player and see the album's full tracklisting below.

'Covers' Tracklist:
1. Bad Religion - Frank Ocean
2. Unhate - Cat Power - Chan Marshall
3. Pa Pa Power - Dead Man’s Bones
4. A Pair Of Brown Eyes - The Pogues
5. Against the Wind - Bob Seger
6. Endless Sea - Iggy Pop
7. These Days – Jackson Browne
8. It Wasn’t God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels - Kitty Wells
9. I Had A Dream Joe - Nick Cave
10. Here Comes A Regular - The Replacements
11. I’ll Be Seeing You - Billie Holiday

More News

Circa Waves return with new single 'Hell On Earth'

Following on from the release of their highly-praised 2020 double album 'Sad Happy', Circa Waves have returned to share a brand new single. The... 3 hours 45 min ago

DMA'S return with new single 'I Don't Need To Hide'

Following on from the release of their highly-praised EP 'I Love You Unconditionally, Sure Am Going To Miss You' last year, DMA'S have now returned... 5 hours 56 min ago

Beth Orton delivers new track 'Friday Night'

With her highly-anticipated new album landing later next month, Beth Orton has now dropped the next cut to be lifted from her forthcoming full-length... 21 hours 56 min ago

Fat Trout Trailer Park unveil new track 'Sleepy Peeps'

Following on from their brilliant comeback single 'Belts' in recent weeks, Fat Trout Trailer Park are back once again with a brand new single. The... 1 day 3 hours ago

The Beths unveil new single 'Knees Deep'

With their eagerly-awaited new album landing next month, The Beths have now dropped the next cut to be lifted from their forthcoming full-length.... 1 day 5 hours ago

Bess Atwell shares Billie Marten & Ellie Mason rework of 'How Do You Leave'

With her eagerly-awaited new remix EP landing next month, Bess Atwell has now shared the next cut to be lifted from her upcoming collection. The... 1 day 21 hours ago

Daphni drops new single 'Mania'

With his long-awaited new album due out in the coming months, producer Dan Snaith aka Daphni has now delivered the next cut to be lifted from his... 2 days 6 hours ago

First Aid Kit unveil new single 'Out Of My Head'

With their long-awaited new album due out later this year, First Aid Kit have now dropped the next cut to be lifted from their forthcoming full-... 2 days 21 hours ago

Kate Nash delivers new single 'Wasteman'

After returning these last few months to share a batch of impactful singles, Kate Nash is back once again to unveil her latest offering. The new... 3 days 3 hours ago