Monster Florence announce new album 'Master System'

Following on from the release of their highly-praised EP 'Cowboys & Idiots' in 2020, Monster Florence have now announced their plans for a new studio album, arriving early next year.

The new full-length 'Master System' will include the previously shared John Cooper Clarke collaboration 'Relax', and 'Borstal', is being previewed by the new lead single 'Midnight Club', and is set to be released on the 10th February via Project Melody Music.

Speaking about the new album, they said, "The quick rise of the digital age has opened a sort of Pandora's box. Some innovations are designed to connect and enhance our lives, and others are a mockery of life itself. We hang digital art on digital walls to impress digital friends, and meanwhile the world burns.

"Master System delves into the future effects of technology on the world by reaching to the past. Movies like Blade Runner and Total Recall were big inspirations. They imagined a retrofitted vision of the future; one where high-tech flying cars operate over a decayed industrial landscape. That's something we tried to do with the sound of the album. We have distorted synths woven into full string sections. There are ghostly operatic vocals and saxophones beside robotic vocoders. It’s the idea that the future isn't sterile and gleaming, but an accumulation of everything that came before.

"Lyrically there is religious symbolism, epistemology and heartbreak. It's a twisted love letter to our society and culture. The western world inches ever closer to an inherently digital existence, and the Master System is our idea of that eventuality. What does the human experience look like when completely disconnected from the earth?"

Have a listen to 'Midnight Club' in the player and see the album's full tracklisting below.

'Master System' Tracklist:
1. Widow
2. Bad Graphics
3. Borstal
4. Lag
5. Relax Featuring John Cooper Clarke
6. Somewhere (Interlude)
7. Spaceman
8. If Dreams Could Be Sold (Interlude)
9. Midnight Club
10. Jiggy Jiggy Featuring Dame
11. Tin Foil Girl
12. Wolf In A Woolly Hat
13. Do The Birds Still Sing In Hell? Featuring Louis The Hippie

More News

bdrmm announce new album 'I Don't Know'

Following on from the release of their highly-praised 2020 debut LP 'Bedroom', bdrmm have now announced their plans for a new studio album, their... 2 hours 35 min ago

Billie Marten unveils new single 'Nothing But Mine'

With her eagerly-awaited new album landing in the coming months, Billie Marten has now unveiled the next cut to be lifted from her forthcoming full-... 18 hours 46 min ago

STONE deliver new single 'I Let Go'

After capping off their 2022 with their superb debut EP 'Punkadonk' and subsequent comeback anthem 'Money (Hope Ain’t Gone)', Liverpool's STONE are... 1 day 51 min ago

The Sherlocks announce new album 'People Like Me & You'

Following on from the release of their highly-praised 'World I Understand' LP last year, The Sherlocks have now announced their plans for a new... 1 day 2 hours ago

Claire Rosinkranz returns with new single 'Sad In Hawaii'

After cementing herself with a flurry of exceptional delights last year, Claire Rosinkranz returns once again to deliver a brand new single. The... 3 days 18 hours ago

James Vickery announces new EP 'Sheet Music'

After delighting us with a flurry of warm and enticing releases these last few months, James Vickery returns to announce the details behind his new... 4 days 1 hour ago

Unknown Mortal Orchestra announce new double album 'V'

Following on from the release of their highly-praised 2018 LP 'IC-01 Hanoi', Unknown Mortal Orchestra have now announced their plans for a double... 4 days 2 hours ago

The Tallest Man On Earth announces new album 'Henry St.'

Following on from the release of his highly-praised 2019 LP 'I Love You, It’s a Fever Dream', The Tallest Man On Earth - project of Swedish musician... 4 days 18 hours ago

Rachel Chinouriri delivers new single 'Maybe I'm Lonely'

After an incredible 2022, which ended with her landing a place on the BBC Sound of 2023 shortlist, Rachel Chinouriri is back once again to offer up a... 5 days 48 min ago