The Flaming Lips announce new album 'American Head'

After returning earlier this year to drop their comeback single 'Flowers of Neptune 6', The Flaming Lips have now announced their plans for a new studio album arriving in the coming months.

The new full-length 'American Head' follows on from last year's 'King's Mouth' LP, is being previewed by the new lead track 'My Religion Is You', and is set to be released on the 11th September via Bella Union.

Speaking about the new release, frontman Wayne Coyne said, "The music and songs that make up the AMERICAN HEAD album are based in a feeling. A feeling that, I think, can only be expressed through music and songs. We were, while creating it, trying to NOT hear it as sounds... but to feel it. Mother’s sacrifice, Father’s intensity, Brother’s insanity, Sister’s rebellion...I can’t quite put it into words.

"Something switches and others (your brothers and sisters and mother and father...your pets) start to become more important to you…in the beginning there is only you... and your desires are all that you can care about...but... something switches.. I think all of these songs are about this little switch."

Check out the new video for 'My Religion Is You' in the player and see the album's full tracklisting below.

'American Head' Tracklist:
Will You Return / When You Come Down
Watching the Lightbugs Glow
Flowers Of Neptune 6
Dinosaurs On The Mountain
At The Movies On Quaaludes
Mother I've Taken LSD
Brother Eye
You n Me Sellin' Weed
Mother Please Don't Be Sad
When We Die When We're High
Assassins of Youth
God and the Policeman (Feat. Kacey Musgraves)
My Religion Is You

More News

Black Honey announce new album 'A Fistful Of Peaches'

Following on from the release of their highly-praised 2020 sophomore LP 'Written... 3 weeks 2 days ago

Dream Wife return with new single 'Leech'

Following on from the release of their highly-praised sophomore album 'So When You Gonna…' in 2020, Dream Wife have now returned to share a brand new... 3 weeks 2 days ago

Gena Rose Bruce announces new album 'Deep Is The Way'

Following on from the release of her highly-praised Australian Music Prize-nominated debut LP 'Can't Make You Love Me' in 2019, Gena Rose Bruce has... 3 weeks 3 days ago

Jordana delivers new single 'You're In The Way'

With her highly-anticipated new EP landing later this week, Jordana has now unveiled the final cut to be lifted from her forthcoming release. The... 3 weeks 4 days ago

DC Gore unveils moa moa remix of 'Millennium People'

Following on from the release of his highly-praised debut album 'All These Things' earlier this year, DC Gore has now returned to share a new remix... 3 weeks 4 days ago

Brockhampton return with new single 'Big Pussy'

With their highly-anticipated final studio album arriving later this month, Brockhampton have now delivered the first cut to be lifted from their... 3 weeks 5 days ago

Matt Corby returns with new single 'Problems'

Having remained largely quiet over the last couple of years, Matt Corby has now returned to share a brand new single. The new track 'Problems' is... 4 weeks 23 hours ago

SG Lewis unveils new track 'Lifetime'

With his highly-anticipated new album landing early next year, SG Lewis has now dropped the next cut to be lifted from his forthcoming full-length... 4 weeks 1 day ago

White Lung unveil new single 'If You're Gone'

With their highly-anticipated new album set to land early next month, White Lung have now returned to unveil the next cut to be lifted from their... 4 weeks 1 day ago