Beck to release 'Song Reader' with Jack White, Jarvis Cocker and more

In 2012, Beck released an experimental album called 'Song Reader', comprised entirely of sheet music. The idea being that to hear the album, fans would have to play the music themselves. But now the multi-instrumentalist has planned to release a recorded version of the album, entrusting the help of some of the world's best musicians to bring it to life.

Jack White, Jarvis Cocker, Norah Jones, Laura Marling and Loudon Wainwright III are just some of the artists who will each perform a song from the 20-track concept album, while Beck himself only features once on the track 'Heaven's Ladder'.

The new album will be available from the 29th July through Capitol Records. See below for the full tracklisting as well as a live performance of Beck's 'Heavens Ladder'.

[Via FACT]

'Song Reader' Tracklist:
01 Moses Sumney – Title of This Song
02 Fun. – Please Leave A Light On When You Go
03 Tweedy – The Wolf Is On The Hill
04 Norah Jones – Just Noise
05 Lord Huron – Last Night You Were A Dream
06 Bob Forrest – Saint Dude
07 Jack White – I’m Down
08 Beck – Heaven’s Ladder
09 Juanes – Don’t Act Like Your Heart Isn’t Hard
10 Laura Marling – Sorry
11 Jarvis Cocker – Eyes That Say ’I Love You’
12 David Johansen – Rough On Rats
13 Jason Isbell – Now That Your Dollar Bills Have Sprouted Wings
14 The Last Polka – Marc Ribot
15 Eleanor Friedberger – Old Shanghai
16 Sparks – Why Did You Make Me Care?
17 Swamp Dogg – America, Here’s My Boy
18 Jack Black – We All Wear Cloaks
19 Loudon Wainwright III – Do We? We Do
20 Gabriel Kahane with Ymusic – Mutilation Rag

More News

Avey Tare collaborates with Panda Bear on 'Vampire Tongues'

Following on from his much-loved studio album '7s' last year, Avey Tare has now returned to share a brand new single. The new track 'Vampire... 19 hours 3 min ago

Pale Waves announce new album 'Smitten'

Following on from their highly-praised 2022 LP 'Unwanted', Pale Waves have now announced their plans for a new studio album, arriving later this year... 20 hours 59 min ago

Toro y Moi announces new album 'Hole Erth'

Following on from his much-loved 2022 LP 'MAHAL', Toro y Moi has now announced his plans for a new studio album, arriving in the coming months.... 1 day 19 hours ago

Hinds unveil new single 'En Forma'

With their eagerly-awaited new album arriving in the coming months, Hinds have now dropped the next cut to be lifted from their forthcoming full-... 1 day 20 hours ago

hard life (fka easy life) return with new single 'tears'

Following their well-publicised fallout with easyGroup last year, hard life (formerly known as easy life) are back with a brand new single. The... 2 days 18 hours ago

Hayden Thorpe announces new album 'Ness'

Following on from his much-loved sophomore LP 'Moondust For My Diamond', Hayden Thorpe has now announced his plans for a new studio album, arriving... 2 days 19 hours ago

Gretel returns with new single 'Far Out'

Following on from her much-loved 'Head Of The Love Club' EP last year, Gretel (FKA Gretel Hänlyn) returns once again to share a brand new single.... 3 days 18 hours ago

FIDLAR announce new album 'SURVIVING THE DREAM'

After returning to deliver their much-loved comeback EP 'That's Life' last year, FIDLAR have now announced their plans for a new studio album,... 3 days 19 hours ago

Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats unveil new single 'Get Used To The Night'

With their eagerly-awaited new album set to land later this month, Nathaniel Rateliff... 4 days 18 hours ago