The Range announces new album 'Mercury'

Following on from the release of his critically-praised 2016 LP 'Potential', producer James Hinton aka The Range has now announced his plans for a new studio album, arriving in the summer.

The new full-length 'Mercury' will include his recent comeback offering 'Bicameral', is being previewed by the new lead single 'Ricercar', which comes accompanied by a Stevie Gee and Essy May-directed video, and is set to be released on the 10th June via Domino Recordings.

Speaking about the new track, he said, “Ricercar - literally - “to search out”. A Ricercar in a musical context is a prelude fugue that kind of sets the tableau of a piece to follow. I first heard about the concept of a Ricercar in a biography of Bach, who famously encoded his own name in a piece (H having been interchangeable as the name for B-flat at the time). At the time I wrote this song I was listening to a lot of rap from the 90s, specifically DJ Premier beats. As such I was rapidly collecting breaks and had just stumbled upon the Chief Kamanawanalea break by the Turtles and found that if I reordered the sections I could make this kind of palindromic composite break that seemed to propel the song along.

“This song features a vocal sample from Instagram of a singer covering Tamar Braxton’s ‘My Man.’ The lyrics are quite personal to me and are a good example of what I try to do in a lot of my songs. I tend to try to find a way to say something that I would never be able to say out loud. I think of my editing of lyrics as a pressure release.”

Check out the new video for 'Ricercar' in the player and see the album's full tracklisting below.

'Mercury' Tracklist:
1. Bicameral
2. 1995
3. Urethane
4. Ricercar
5. Nor For Me
6. Relegate
7. A Tree Day
8. Balm
9. Cantor
10. Every Good Thing
11. Violet

More News

Jamie xx shares new track 'KILL DEM'

After returning with his brilliant comeback single 'LET'S DO IT AGAIN' in April, his first piece of solo material in two years, Jamie xx is back once... 1 week 6 days ago

We Are Scientists return with new single 'Operator Error'

Following on from the release of their highly-praised studio album 'Huffy' last year, We Are Scientists have returned once again to deliver a brand... 1 week 6 days ago

Magdalena Bay deliver new single 'Unconditional'

With the deluxe edition of their highly-praised debut album landing later this week, Magdalena Bay have now dropped the next addition to their... 2 weeks 2 hours ago

Poster Paints unveil new single 'Not Sorry'

With their eagerly-awaited debut album landing next month, Poster Paints have now dropped the next cut to be lifted from their forthcoming full-... 2 weeks 4 hours ago

Daniel Avery shares new single 'Wall Of Sleep'

With his eagerly-awaited new album landing in the coming months, Daniel Avery has now dropped the next cut to be lifted from his forthcoming full-... 2 weeks 20 hours ago

Smashing Pumpkins announce three-act rock opera 'ATUM'

Following on from the release of their much-loved 2020 LP 'CYR', Smashing Pumpkins have now announced their plans for a sprawling three-part rock... 2 weeks 1 day ago

Vistas announce new EP 'Beautiful Nothing'

Following on from the release of their much-loved sophomore album 'What Were You Hoping To Find?' last year, Vistas have now announced their plans... 2 weeks 4 days ago

The Orielles unveil new single 'The Room'

With their highly-anticipated new album landing in just a few weeks, The Orielles have now dropped the next cut to be lifted from their forthcoming... 2 weeks 5 days ago

Cate Le Bon returns with new single 'Typical Love'

Following on from the release of her highly-praised studio album 'Pompeii' earlier this year, Cate Le Bon has now returned to share a brand new... 2 weeks 5 days ago