Spector announce new album 'Here Come The Early Nights'

Following on from the release of their highly-praised 2021 LP 'Now Or Whenever', Spector have now announced their plans for a new studio album, arriving later this year.

The new full-length 'Here Come The Early Nights' will include their recently unveiled comeback single 'The Notion', and is set to be released on the 24th November.

Speaking about the new record, frontman Fred Macpherson said, “We’ve been keen to work with Dimitri Tikovoi again since we made the Ex-Directory EP which kind of single handedly resuscitated our career. We started working on a few ideas with him, including the song that ended up becoming 'Driving Home for Halloween' and then discussed making a whole album together but it soon transpired he only had thirteen days spare. With our previous albums having taken anything from a month to over a year to record, that time span felt like an exciting challenge. Jen and Nic recorded all their rhythm parts in two days at the amazing Narcissus in Willesden Green, then we reverted to Dimitri’s studio in Kensal Rise, where Jed and I would take it in turns recording with Dimitri while the other finished ideas against the clock in the room next store.

"It feels like a slightly more reflective record than the last one, and maybe it’s the fewest love songs we’ve ever had on an album, despite the songs being written with more love. As ever, there are lyrics dealing with the tenets of getting older (which is funny because I thought I was old when we were writing Enjoy It While It Lasts) like hair loss, ('Not Another Weekend'), moving house ('Room with a Different View') and not being able to go clubbing with a baby ('Here Come the Early Nights') it also deals with a few slightly more abstract concepts, from imagined phone calls with a friend who doesn’t pick up ('Some People') to the missing Raphael painting ‘Portrait of a Young Man’ ('Pressure').”

While Jed Cullen added, "We spent some time writing in a cabin on the coast of Essex. A place called Lee-Over-Sands which had the most beautiful, forboding and expressive skies I’ve ever been under. They were changeable, surprising and always completely awe inspiring. Hanging over us like these giant doomy celestial grey fortresses. We wrote a couple of the songs that ended up on the record there but I think those skies inspired us to push this album to be taller and wider than it might have been without them."

Listen again to 'The Notion' in the player and see the album's full tracklisting below.

'Here Come The Early Nights' Tracklist:
1. 'The Notion'
2. 'Driving Home for Halloween'
3. 'Some People'
4. 'Never Have Before'
5. 'Not Another Weekend'
6. 'Pressure'
7. 'Another Life'
8. 'Room with a Different View'
9. 'Here Come the Early Nights'
10. 'All of the World is Changing'

More News

The Streets share new single 'Each Day Gives'

With their highly-anticipated new album now less than a month away, The Streets have dropped the next cut to be lifted from their forthcoming full-... 2 days 19 hours ago

Will Joseph Cook unveils new single 'BORN TO LOSE'

With his eagerly-awaited new mixtape set to land next month, Will Joseph Cook has now dropped the next cut to be lifted from his forthcoming... 2 days 21 hours ago

The Murder Capital return with new single 'Heart In The Hole'

Following on from the release of their highly-praised sophomore LP 'Gigi's Recovery' at the start of the year, The Murder Capital are back once again... 3 days 13 hours ago

Two Door Cinema Club return with new single 'Sure Enough'

Following on from the release of their much-loved studio album 'Keep On Smiling' last year, Two Door Cinema Club have now returned to share a brand... 3 days 19 hours ago

Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes announce new album 'Dark Rainbow'

Following on from the release of their highly-praised 2021 LP 'Sticky', Frank Carter... 3 days 21 hours ago

Dutch Mustard announces new EP 'Beauty'

Following on from the release of her stunning debut EP 'An Interpretation Of Depersonalisation' last year, Dutch Mustard has now announced her plans... 4 days 13 hours ago

O. announce debut EP 'SLICE'

After introducing themselves with their brilliant debut single 'OGO' late last year, London-based duo O., comprised of baritone saxophonist Joseph... 4 days 19 hours ago

Blonde Redhead share new singles 'Sit Down For Dinner (Pts. I & II)'

With their eagerly-awaited new album now just days away, Blonde Redhead have dropped the final pair of cuts to be lifted from their forthcoming full-... 4 days 21 hours ago

boygenius announce new EP 'the rest'

Following on from the release of their incredible debut album 'the record' earlier this year, boygenius have now announced their plans for a new EP,... 5 days 14 hours ago