Thom Yorke releases new album via BitTorrent

Radiohead frontman Thom Yorke has dropped a surprise album via the online torrent site BitTorrent.

To explain his reasons for this, producer Nigel Godrich and Yorke have written the accompanying letter:


As an experiment we are using a new version of BitTorrent to distribute a new Thom Yorke record.
The new Torrent files have a pay gate to access a bundle of files.
The files can be anything, but in this case is an 'album'.
It’s an experiment to see if the mechanics of the system are something that the general public can get its head around ...
If it works well it could be an effective way of handing some control of internet commerce back to people who are creating the work.
Enabling those people who make either music, video or any other kind of digital content to sell it themselves.
Bypassing the self elected gate-keepers.
If it works anyone can do this exactly as we have done.
The torrent mechanism does not require any server uploading or hosting costs or ‘cloud’ malarkey.
It's a self-contained embeddable shop front...
The network not only carries the traffic, it also hosts the file. The file is in the network.
Oh yes and it's called
Tomorrow's Modern Boxes.
Thom Yorke & Nigel Godrich

Click here to download the new album's and check out the full tracklist below.

Tomorrow's Modern Boxes:
01 A Brain in a Bottle
02 Guess Again!
03 Interference
04 The Mother Lode
05 Truth Ray
06 There Is No Ice (For My Drink)
07 Pink Section
08 Nose Grows Some

More News

Ibeyi share cover of Black Flag's 'Rise Above'

With their highly-anticipated new album set to land later next week, Ibeyi have now unveiled the next cut to be lifted from their forthcoming full-... 2 weeks 5 days ago

Kelly Lee Owens shares new single 'One'

With her highly-anticipated new album out in just a few days, Kelly Lee Owens has now dropped the final cut to be lifted from her forthcoming full-... 2 weeks 5 days ago

Mogwai share new single 'Boltfor'

Following on from the release of their chart-topping tenth studio album 'As The Love Continues' last year, Mogwai have now returned to share a brand... 2 weeks 6 days ago

Ty Segall announces new album 'Hello, Hi'

Following on from the release of his Whirlybird soundtrack earlier this year, Ty Segall has now announced his plans for a new studio album, arriving... 2 weeks 6 days ago

Beabadoobee unveils new track 'See You Soon'

With her highly-anticipated new album landing later this summer, Beabadoobee has now returned to unveil the next cut to be lifted from her... 2 weeks 6 days ago

The Range shares new single 'Urethane'

With his eagerly-awaited new album landing in the coming months, producer James Hinton aka The Range has now returned to deliver the next cut from... 3 weeks 6 hours ago

George Ezra shares new single 'Green Green Grass'

With his highly-anticipated new album arriving in the coming months, George Ezra has now dropped the next cut to be lifted from his forthcoming full-... 3 weeks 12 hours ago

Sorry return with new single 'There's So Many People That Want To Be Loved'

Following on from the release of their stunning 2020 self-titled debut LP and follow-up EP 'Twixtustwain' last year, Sorry have now returned to share... 3 weeks 15 hours ago

Sigrid collaborates with Bring Me The Horizon on new single 'Bad Life'

With her eagerly-awaited new album landing next month, Sigrid has now returned to deliver a very special collaboration. The new single 'Bad Life'... 3 weeks 3 days ago