Gerard Way announces new solo album 'Hesitant Alien'

Former My Chemical Romance frontman Gerard Way has unveiled the details surrounding his much-anticipated debut solo album.

The new record 'Hesitant Alien' is expected to drop on the 29th September with pre-order options available from the 19th August. Fans who pre-order the album will receive free downloads of his two singles 'Action Cat' and 'No Shows' instantly.

Speaking about his influences for the new album, Way said, "My intention was to make 100 percent uncompromised art, using the currently least radio-friendly instrument, the guitar. I knew there would be lots of fuzz pedals. I knew I would play Fender instruments. I knew I would look at who my guitar heroes were in art school, Mary Timony and Carrie Brownstein, and I drew a lot of influence from shoegaze and Britpop. I want the record to sonically galvanize people."

"I looked to the Britpop poets like Jarvis Cocker and Damon Albarn, drawing upon everyday life. I also experimented with the abstract, and looked at Frank Black's work both with the Pixies, and as a solo artist. There was no concept and no call-to-arms."

Gerard Way will be performing at this year's Reading and Leeds Festivals and you can see the tracklist for 'Hesitant Alien' below.

'Hesitant Alien' Tracklist:
1. 'Bureau'
2. 'Action Cat'
3. 'No Shows'
4. 'Casting Shadows'
5. 'Millions'
6. 'Zero Zero'
7. 'Juarez'
8. 'Drugstore Perfume'
9. 'Get The Gang Together'
10. 'How’s It Going To Be'
11. 'Maya The Psychic'

More News

SIIGHTS announce new EP 'Somewhere Between Lost And Found'

Following on from the release of their much-loved 2020 self-titled debut EP, SIIGHTS have now announced their plans for a new EP, arriving in the... 1 month 4 hours ago

Deb Never announces new EP 'THANK YOU FOR ATTENDING'

Following on from the release of her highly-praised 2021 EP 'Where Have All The Flowers Gone?', Deb Never has now announced her plans for a new EP,... 1 month 6 hours ago

Let's Eat Grandma's Rosa Walton shares new solo single 'Turning Up The Flowers'

While her formative group recently returned with their stunning LP 'Two Ribbons' and scored the soundtrack for the Netflix series The Bastard Son... 1 month 22 hours ago

FIDLAR announce new EP 'That's Life'

Following on from the release of their brilliant 2019 LP 'Almost Free', FIDLAR have now announced their plans for a new EP, landing next month.... 1 month 1 day ago

Anna Of The North announces deluxe edition of 'Crazy Life'

Following on from the release of her highly-praised third LP 'Crazy Life' at the end of last year, Anna Of The North has now announced her plans for... 1 month 1 day ago

Seafret announce new album 'Wonderland'

Following on from the release of their highly-praised 2020 LP 'Most Of Us Are Strangers' alongside last year's 'Anywhere But Here' EP, Seafret have... 1 month 3 days ago

Kele Okereke shares new single 'Someone To Make Me Laugh'

With his eagerly-awaited new album set to land later next month, Kele Okereke has now unveiled the next cut to be lifted from his forthcoming full-... 1 month 4 days ago

Janelle Monáe returns with new single 'Float'

Having spent the last few years releasing a sparse array of gems since her 2018 LP 'Dirty Computer', Janelle Monáe has now returned once again to... 1 month 4 days ago

Black Honey deliver new single 'OK'

With their highly-anticipated new album landing next month, Black Honey have now unveiled yet another cut lifted from their forthcoming full-length... 1 month 4 days ago