Gena Rose Bruce announces new album 'Deep Is The Way'

Following on from the release of her highly-praised Australian Music Prize-nominated debut LP 'Can't Make You Love Me' in 2019, Gena Rose Bruce has now announced her plans for a new studio album, arriving early next year.

The new full-length 'Deep Is The Way' is being previewed by the new title-track, which was co-written and features singer-songwriter Bill Callahan, and is set to be released on the 27th January via Dot Dash / Remote Control Records.

Speaking about the new offering, she said, "Working with Bill was very poetic and brought a feeling of nostalgia. We have only ever had written correspondence, sending lyrics back and forth to each other, with sometimes weeks in between responses, just analysing lyrics, there was no small talk, just keeping it about what's important - the music.

“I think it can sometimes be overwhelming trying to find your place or 'your thing' in life. This song really is a dedication for those people who may be slower in finding themselves, who like to dream, think deeply and take their time to make decisions, for them to appreciate and honour their thoughtful process. Not everyone has to keep up with this unachievably fast and competitive world.”

Check out the new Alex Badham-directed video for 'Deep Is The Way' in the player and see the album's full tracklisting below.

'Deep Is The Way' Tracklist:
1. Future
2. Destroy Myself
3. Foolishly In Love
4. Harsh Light
5. Misery And Misfortune
6. Deep Is The Way
7. Morning Stars
8. I'd Rather Be A Dreamer
9. Love
10. I'm Not Made To Love Only You
11. Captive

More News

Animal Collective announce reissue of debut album 'Spirit They're Gone, Spirit They're Vanished'

After originally being released as a very small CD-only pressing on their own Animal label in August 2000, Animal Collective are now reissuing their... 1 week 4 days ago

The Hold Steady share new track 'Understudies'

With their eagerly-awaited new album landing at the end of this month, The Hold Steady have now dropped the next cut to be lifted from their... 1 week 4 days ago

Claire Rosinkranz shares new single 'Never Goes Away'

Fresh off the back of her highly-praised offering 'Sad In Hawaii' earlier this year, Claire Rosinkranz is back once again with another brand new... 2 weeks 12 hours ago

Florence + The Machine covers No Doubt's 'Just A Girl'

Following on from the release of their highly-praised studio album 'Dance Fever' last year, Florence + The Machine have now returned to share a very... 2 weeks 20 hours ago

The Pigeon Detectives return with new single 'Lovers Come And Lovers Go'

Having been unusually quiet since their highly-praised 2016 full-length 'Broken Glances', The Pigeon Detectives are now back to share a brand new... 2 weeks 1 day ago

Rodrigo y Gabriela deliver new single 'Egoland'

With their highly-anticipated new album set to land later next month, Rodrigo y Gabriela have now unveiled the next cut to be lifted from their... 2 weeks 1 day ago

Christine & The Queens announces new album 'PARANOÏA, ANGELS, TRUE LOVE'

Following on from the release of his highly-praised LP 'Redcar les adorables étoiles' last year, Christine... 2 weeks 1 day ago

Bleach Lab return with new single 'Indigo'

Following on from the release of their highly-praised EP 'If You Only Feel It Once' near the end of last year, Bleach Lab return once again to offer... 2 weeks 2 days ago

Rufus Wainwright announces new album 'Folkocracy'

Following on from the release of his much-loved 'Rufus Does Judy at Capitol Studios' LP last year, Rufus Wainwright has now announced his plans for a... 2 weeks 2 days ago