XL Recordings celebrate 25 years with 4-vinyl compilation

As one of the biggest independent labels in the world, XL Recordings are marking their 25th year of business with a stunning 'best of' compilation of the labels history.

The 4-vinyl, 2 CD set 'Pay Close Attention', taken from the label and Prodigy's seminal release 'Out Of Space', is split in two halves. The first being the groundbreaking electronic music that the label is best known for, while the other highlights the variety of music the imprint has been proud to support over the years. The pack also comes with a bonus DVD of music videos and live performances.

'Pay Close Attention' will receive a general release on the 25th August. You can check out the tracklist for all the discs below as well as unseen footage of two of the labels biggest names, Vampire Weekend and Tyler, The Creator.

Disc One:
1 SL2: DJs Take Control
2 The Prodigy: Out Of Space
3 Awesome 3: Don’t Go (Kicks Like A Mule Mix)
4 Liquid: Sweet Harmony
5 Jonny L: Piper
6 Roy Davis Jr. ft. Peven Everett: Gabriel (Live Garage Version)
7 Dem 2: Destiny
8 Nu-Birth: Anytime
9 Basement Jaxx: Jump N’Shout
10 Dizzee Rascal: I Luv U
11 Wiley: Igloo
12 Various Production: Hater
13 Giggs: Talkin The Hardest
14 SBTRKT: Wildfire [ft. Little Dragon]
15 Jamie xx: All Under One Roof Raving

Disc Two:
1 The Prodigy: Firestarter
2 Peaches: Fuck The Pain Away
3 The White Stripes: Seven Nation Army
4 Devendra Banhart: I Feel Just Like A Child
5 Ratatat: Seventeen Years
6 M.I.A.: Paper Planes
7 Thom Yorke: The Eraser

8 Gil Scott-Heron: New York Is Killing Me
9 Radiohead: Weird Fishes / Arpeggi
10 Tyler, The Creator: Yonkers
11 The Horrors: Sea Within A Sea
12 Jai Paul: BTSTU (demo)
13 Bobby Womack: Please Forgive My Heart
14 The xx: Angels
15 Sampha: Too Much
16 Vampire Weekend: Step
17 King Krule: Easy Easy
18 Adele: Rolling In The Deep

Bonus DVD:
Prodigy - Firestarter (Director Walter Stern)
Basement Jaxx – Where’s Your Head At (Director Traktor)
The White Stripes - Fell In Love With A Girl (Director Michel Gondry)
Dizzee Rascal - Fix Up, Look Sharp (Director Ruben Fleischer)
M.I.A - BirdFlu (Director M.I.A)
Vampire Weekend - A-Punk (Director Hammer and Tongs)
Radiohead - Lotus Flower (Director Garth Jennings)
Gil Scott-Heron – I’m New Here (Director Jane Pollard)
Tyler, The Creator - Yonkers (Director Tyler, The Creator)
ADELE - Someone Like You (Live From The Brits 2011)

More News

HMLTD unveil new single 'The End Is Now'

With their highly-anticipated new album landing next month, HMLTD have now dropped the next cut to be lifted from their forthcoming full-length.... 3 weeks 1 day ago

Billie Marten delivers new single 'I Can't Get My Head Around You'

With her eagerly-awaited new album now less than a month away, Billie Marten has now unveiled the next cut to be lifted from her forthcoming full-... 3 weeks 1 day ago

The Tallest Man On Earth shares new single 'Henry St.'

With his eagerly-awaited new album landing next month, The Tallest Man On Earth has now unveiled the next cut to be lifted from his forthcoming full-... 3 weeks 1 day ago

SBTRKT announces new album 'The Rat Road'

Having spent the last few years churning out a wealth of dynamic singles since his 2016 surprise project 'SAVE YOURSELF', SBTRKT has now returned to... 3 weeks 2 days ago

Birdy announces new album 'Portraits'

Following on from the release of her much-loved 2021 LP 'Young Heart', Birdy has now announced her plans for a new studio album, arriving later this... 3 weeks 2 days ago

Fred again.. collaborates with Mike Skinner and Dermot Kennedy on 'Mike (desert island duvet)'

Following on from the release of his highly-praised studio album 'Actual Life 3 (January 1 - September 9 2022)' near the end of last year, Fred again... 3 weeks 2 days ago

Dream Wife, Los Bitchos and more come together for Music Against Misogyny

To celebrate International Women's Day, label Two-Piers have unveiled their wonderful new compilation 'Music Against Misogyny'. Featuring... 3 weeks 5 days ago

Fontaines DC cover Nick Drake's 'Cello Song'

Fresh off the back of their highly-praised third LP 'Skinny Fia' at the end of last year, Fontaines DC have now returned to share a cover of Nick... 3 weeks 5 days ago

boygenius unveil new track 'Not Strong Enough'

With their eagerly-awaited debut album landing later this month, boygenius have now dropped the next cut to be lifted from their forthcoming full-... 3 weeks 6 days ago